Privacy Policy
Tags : property, business, travel, technology, nightlife, events, food, food, expat_services
|
|
| Author |
Message |
lawdude
Moderator


Joined: Sep 20, 2002
Posts: 687
Location: No longer in Shanghai, PRC
Status: Offline
|
Posted:
Nov 09, 2004 - 11:28 AM |
|
| Post subject: Privacy Policy |
|
|
 |
guinness
Reacher


Joined: July 15, 2009
Posts: 231
Status: Offline
|
Posted:
Sep 02, 2009 - 03:27 PM |
|
|
I received a SPAM email today, which after some looking into has something to do with Shanghai Expat...
from: Tsinghua-INSEAD - tiemba@sem.tsinghua.edu.cn
to: my email address
date: Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 2:22 PM
subject: Tsinghua-INSEAD EMBA: Master Class and Information Session, Sep. 9, Shanghai
mailed-by: icpbounce.com
The contents of the message was selling some information session for "features of the Dual Degree EMBA Programme jointly run by the School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University and INSEAD"
At the bottom of the email was a box with the following information:
This message was sent from Tsinghua-INSEAD to MY EMAIL ADDRESS. It was sent from: MaxIntermedia, via TIEMBA Office, School of Economics and Management, 311, Shunde Building Tsinghua University, Beijing, Beijing 100084, China. You can modify/update your subscription via the link below.
Now when I click on the "manage your subscription" it opens up to a new page that has the SHexpat logo on it! (see below attached)
My concern is that apart from this SHexpat logo, there is not one mention of SHexpat in the body or subject of the email, and it is not from an SHexpat email address...so have my details been sold to a marketing company??
I double checked the SHexpat registration and privacy policy, and it is mentioned several times: Register now! It's free!We won't sell or give your personal information to anyone
Appreciate if someone could enlighten me on this, and can confirm that my details have not been sold, and I will not be receiving such SPAM in the future from a marketing company that I have not signed up for. I'm happy to receive the SHexpat emails (even if I do just delete them most of the time), but not from addresses I do not recognise, or with no reference to a website that I have registered with... |
| Description: |
| a view of the 'manage my subscription' page |
|
| Filesize: |
33.06 KB |
| Viewed: |
743 Time(s) |

|
|
|
|
 |
Michael
Moderator


Joined: Mar 22, 2002
Posts: 6342
Status: Offline
|
Posted:
Sep 02, 2009 - 03:43 PM |
|
|
Yes.. we sent it. We sell up to one eDM per month. Also, we occasionally send eDMs for our partners for whom we do not receive payment. The clients or partners do not get the email addresses, we send it. We are sensitive to the fact that our members do not want to receive regular eDMs from us, so we voluntarily limit what we sell and we have turned away business when we have met our self imposed quota. All of our mail list are opt-in and people can opt-out anytime and they will actually be taken off the list. |
|
|
|
|
 |
Michael
Moderator


Joined: Mar 22, 2002
Posts: 6342
Status: Offline
|
Posted:
Sep 02, 2009 - 03:48 PM |
|
|
Got your concern. No.. your email has not been sold. Perhaps for these we need to say something somewhere about it being from Shanghaiexpat. |
|
|
|
|
 |
guinness
Reacher


Joined: July 15, 2009
Posts: 231
Status: Offline
|
Posted:
Sep 02, 2009 - 03:57 PM |
|
|
Hi Michael, thank you for your prompt response and clarification.
As I mentioned, my main concern was that in the entire email there was no reference to SHexpat anywhere, and it was only because I clicked on the "manage subscription" that I was able to see it had something to do with SHexpat.
Normally I don't even click those links, since I don't want any spammers to see that I've even looked at the email.
As you mentioned, I would agree to putting a reference to SHexpat somewhere in the body or subject for future emails, just to avoid any concerns or have the emails reported for spam.
cheers. |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
| |
|
|