Join Now Recruiting Volunteer
  Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   PreferencesPreferences  Watched TopicsWatched Topics  Watched ForumsWatched Forums
Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages    Log inLog in   Ignored Users

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
lawdudeOffline
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Sep 20, 2002
Posts: 687
Location: No longer in Shanghai, PRC
Status: Offline
Post 21Posted: Nov 09, 2004 - 11:28 AM  Reply with quote  Back to top
Post subject: Privacy Policy

This site now has a posted Privacy Policy. For details, please see the Privacy Policy at http://www.shanghaiexpat.com/Article175.phtml
View user's profile Send e-mail
guinnessOffline
Barker
Barker


Joined: July 15, 2009
Posts: 198

Status: Offline
Post  Posted: Sep 02, 2009 - 03:27 PM  Reply with quote  Back to top

I received a SPAM email today, which after some looking into has something to do with Shanghai Expat...

from: Tsinghua-INSEAD - tiemba@sem.tsinghua.edu.cn
to: my email address
date: Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 2:22 PM
subject: Tsinghua-INSEAD EMBA: Master Class and Information Session, Sep. 9, Shanghai
mailed-by: icpbounce.com

The contents of the message was selling some information session for "features of the Dual Degree EMBA Programme jointly run by the School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University and INSEAD"

At the bottom of the email was a box with the following information:

This message was sent from Tsinghua-INSEAD to MY EMAIL ADDRESS. It was sent from: MaxIntermedia, via TIEMBA Office, School of Economics and Management, 311, Shunde Building Tsinghua University, Beijing, Beijing 100084, China. You can modify/update your subscription via the link below.

Now when I click on the "manage your subscription" it opens up to a new page that has the SHexpat logo on it! (see below attached)

My concern is that apart from this SHexpat logo, there is not one mention of SHexpat in the body or subject of the email, and it is not from an SHexpat email address...so have my details been sold to a marketing company??

I double checked the SHexpat registration and privacy policy, and it is mentioned several times: Register now! It's free!We won't sell or give your personal information to anyone

Appreciate if someone could enlighten me on this, and can confirm that my details have not been sold, and I will not be receiving such SPAM in the future from a marketing company that I have not signed up for. I'm happy to receive the SHexpat emails (even if I do just delete them most of the time), but not from addresses I do not recognise, or with no reference to a website that I have registered with...



shexpat-subscription.JPG
 Description:
a view of the 'manage my subscription' page
 Filesize:  33.06 KB
 Viewed:  469 Time(s)

shexpat-subscription.JPG


View user's profile
MichaelOffline
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Mar 22, 2002
Posts: 6100

Status: Offline
Post  Posted: Sep 02, 2009 - 03:43 PM  Reply with quote  Back to top

Yes.. we sent it. We sell up to one eDM per month. Also, we occasionally send eDMs for our partners for whom we do not receive payment. The clients or partners do not get the email addresses, we send it. We are sensitive to the fact that our members do not want to receive regular eDMs from us, so we voluntarily limit what we sell and we have turned away business when we have met our self imposed quota. All of our mail list are opt-in and people can opt-out anytime and they will actually be taken off the list.
View user's profile Visit poster's website
MichaelOffline
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Mar 22, 2002
Posts: 6100

Status: Offline
Post  Posted: Sep 02, 2009 - 03:48 PM  Reply with quote  Back to top

Got your concern. No.. your email has not been sold. Perhaps for these we need to say something somewhere about it being from Shanghaiexpat.
View user's profile Visit poster's website
guinnessOffline
Barker
Barker


Joined: July 15, 2009
Posts: 198

Status: Offline
Post  Posted: Sep 02, 2009 - 03:57 PM  Reply with quote  Back to top

Hi Michael, thank you for your prompt response and clarification.
As I mentioned, my main concern was that in the entire email there was no reference to SHexpat anywhere, and it was only because I clicked on the "manage subscription" that I was able to see it had something to do with SHexpat.
Normally I don't even click those links, since I don't want any spammers to see that I've even looked at the email.

As you mentioned, I would agree to putting a reference to SHexpat somewhere in the body or subject for future emails, just to avoid any concerns or have the emails reported for spam.

cheers.
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by MDForum 2.0.7© 2003-2007 MAXdev Team
Credits
Welcome Guest

Username
Password
Remember me
Register Here!
Join the Shanghai Expat News in the Mail
Email:

Latest Newsletters
Events in Shanghai
November 17, 2009


Members
October 27, 2009


Discounts
October 29, 2009


Web ShanghaiExpat

Welcome Guest
Join Us!

Register, it's free!
 Create an account
Members: Online
Members: Members:21
Guests: Guests:554
Total: Total:575

    Home    Sitemap    Terms of Service    Privacy Policy     Contact Us    Advertising 

All logos and trademarks on this site are property of their respective owner. The comments and forum posts are property of their posters, all the rest copyright 1999-2008 by Max Intermedia LTD.

Powered by MD-Pro