6 Hour Layover in Shanghai

Anything travel related in and out of China

6 Hour Layover in Shanghai

Postby dhc529 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:06 am

Dear Friends,

I am flying from SIN to JFK with a 6:00 AM to noon layover at the airport. Assuming I have no luggage to carry, spending two hours to get out and another two to get back into the airport, I have two hours to get to the Bund/Financial District in Pudong using the maglev train.

Is this feasible to eat a quick lunch and visit one of the building's observation deck on a Saturday morning in this timeframe? It's my first time to Shanghai :-)

Thank you and kind regards,

Drew Candebat
dhc529

Re: 6 Hour Layover in Shanghai

Postby Renovator » Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:40 am

If you speak Chinese and have a visa to enter China (not just transit) then you may be able to do this. Remember, however, that Airlines normally close check in before boarding begins, so on an international flight you will probably have to be back at the airport, checked in at least 45 minutes before your flight (call the airline or go to their website for check in policies). You are supposed to check back in 2-3 hours in advance on an international flight so I would not appear at the check in counter 46 minutes before your flight as they may not let you check in. You will need to go back through Security and immigration as well so if there are several flights leaving after yours, the lines could be long and could take you up to 30-40 minutes to clear procedures.

Although, technically, this could be done especially if someone was hosting you that knows exactly where you want to go, and more possible if you have good priority status with your airline, I would certainly not recommend trying this being your first time to Shanghai.
Renovator
Veejay
Veejay

Postby GC » Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:09 am