How far is New Gubei District to Downtown??

How far is New Gubei District to Downtown??

Postby beanbeangirl » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:39 am

:lol: I am a newbie to Shanghai who will be interning at a law firm near Ren Min Plaza. I plan to stay in the New Gubei District but want to know how far it is/how long it would take me to travel in rush hours from New Gubei District to Ren Min Plaza. Any metro close by?? I am not so sure about taking public bus since they always seem to be so crowded. Is it possible for me to arrange a pick-up plan with a local driver? If so, how much? Should I just take taxi? I am confused!!
beanbeangirl

Postby Angie » Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:23 am

approx 10km. You could take a taxi to Loushanguang Lu Metro, then jump in the metro and get off at Peoples' Square after 5 stops (should take you 12 minutes on the tube). You you could ride a bicycle to the metro. There might be also 1-2 buses from Gubei New District to the metro (but taxi or bike would be more convenient).
Angie
Raver
Raver

Postby yu888 » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:48 am

Actually there are closer Metro stations than LouShanGuan Lu station, probably WeiNing Lu Station. But i would agree that you may consider riding a bike to the metro sttation then taking Metro Line 2 into Peoples Sq, or alternatively, there are many buses that run along Yan An Rd.

Total commute time in traffic though is probably going to be an hour each way door to door regardl;ess of which method you use, with the bike/metro/walk option being likely the fastest.
6 years of experiences, good, bad ugly... and survived.

My Blog
yu888
Board Legend
Board Legend

Postby Lotta » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:07 am

Slightly off topic, but is there a better / faster way to Huai hai road, from Gubei, rather than take the 911 bus ? Its very difficult to get taxis during the rush hour.. it seems there is no convenient metro line, have to go up to peoples square and then change to line 1 ?
Lotta
Reacher
Reacher