IP address for ZTE ZXV10 W300

Information on everything from mobile apps to buying a new laptop or PC

IP address for ZTE ZXV10 W300

Postby gregorsky1 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:34 pm

Hi,
does anyone knows how to change ip address that router set to my computer?
I need to change ip from original 192.168.1.2 to e.g. 10.114.6.116.
I was trying to do it using Interface-LAN fields but then I could not connect to internet.

Appreciated for help.
I need it for VPN connection (remote desktop cannot connect but VPN does).

Regards,
Greg
gregorsky1
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:27 pm

Postby compsolutions » Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:05 pm

The answer is, that changing that is irrelevant to your requirements.

Assuming you are using DHCP from your router, it will assign an address in its range.
When you connect to your VPN, your VPN should assign you an ip within its own range and setup a route for packets to travel over that ip.

No need to mess with the router ip address.

If however, you wanted the router to connect to the VPN, then you would need to install / setup whatever software necessary inside the router to connect, and have that do the routing. Most routers will not have the necessary bits and pieces to do that.
_______________________________________________________________
IT Services, Hosting, and Webdesign - http://www.computersolutions.cn
compsolutions
PopStar
PopStar
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:58 pm

Postby gregorsky1 » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:05 am

Thank You for answer.
Administrator of my network said that it is necessary as one of networks in company has address 192.168.1.... and I need to have different third number in my ip address. For few next days I have also net from mobile with Huawei router and it sets my ip address to 10.114..... and remote desktop via VPN works great.

Greg
gregorsky1
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:27 pm

Postby compsolutions » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:52 am

Ok, then you will need to change the router setup, although your company should have picked something less likely to be in use. the 192.168.1.x and 192.168.0.x are the most commonly used ranges in routers.

Your router should be sitting at 192.168.1.1
Visit that in a browser: http://192.168.1.1
User / Pass should be admin / admin

You'll be looking to change the default network range in the LAN settings.
Pick something that is in the 10.x range if your network is using 192.x
10.0.0.1 for the router ip address should be an ok choice.

You'll need to save the settings, and the router will reboot. If you want to continue changing settings, you'll need to visit the router at the new ip address you set it to.

As information about your router is scarce, and the provider makes you register to look at anything on their site, thats up to you to find out how to do those steps.
Personally I'd toss that heap of junk, and replace it with a better router, and adsl modem.
_______________________________________________________________
IT Services, Hosting, and Webdesign - http://www.computersolutions.cn
compsolutions
PopStar
PopStar
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:58 pm

Postby gregorsky1 » Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:31 pm

Yes I have tried in beginning like You wrote and have changed data in LAN settings but then I couldn't get Internet conenction. Nothing was helping. In the end I had to reset router to go back to original settings. Any experience with such a problem?
Greg
gregorsky1
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:27 pm


Return to Technology

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests