Moving back to US!? talk me out of it....

All you need to know about moving to or around Shanghai! Find out if Puxi(West of the Huangpu River) or Pudong(East of the river) work for you

Moving back to US!? talk me out of it....

Postby Sal_ » Tue May 24, 2011 1:18 pm

I know this isn't the right area for this post but I'm sad to write it so give me a break please.

I've been asked to move to the US and take over a important work area, I've been told I can be anywhere in the US(home office plus popping down to local sales office when needed, we're everywhere). Though we're feeling very settled in Shanghai it seems like we'd be moving the wrong way! people are coming here right?

Anyway I work in IT and SF would be the destination without question. We're not Americans either but did move from the East coast to Shanghai 4 years ago. I kow I'm not being moved "back" to be fired thats for sure since the company is making other investments towards my future with them.

Now I can take this as a "well done" you survived that now come help pull us out of the doo doo here, or the green eyed monsters having figured they can cut back on my total package by having me a US employee and not expensive expat(though I'm a half pat really, don't have a mission I have a full time local contract with benefits)

So any advice on negotiating a return and what I should be expecting/demanding in a contract? I will have a contract, like I stated earlier I'm not American so "at will" can go suck my balls.

Its not exactly an aweful situation to find oneself in but having to buy and run a car (or 2), schooling, housing is all more expensive in SF than Shanghai (apart from schooling a kindergartn age kid right?) Food will be cheaper (Trader Joes...my friend its been too long) Traffic on the 280 and 101 will be apain I hope to avoid.