Problems with China Mobile GSM network

Information on everything from mobile apps to buying a new laptop or PC

Problems with China Mobile GSM network

Postby shine » Thu May 29, 2008 4:10 pm

Recently i have been experiencing lot of problems with the China Mobile GSM network. The voice clarity is very poor. I'm unable to connect with the other GSM user in one try. Especially in the evenings, i get error message network is busy. My colleagues from head office back in the home country are unable to call me. However most of the time, the signal strength on my cell phone is Maximum.

Is it that the bandwidth is over loaded? Is that the Govt has opened up just a narrow spectrum for GSM and most is still reserved for their own use? Anyone else facing similar problems?

I;m well aware that for GSM, i don't have any other option but then should i change over to CDMA?
shine
Reacher
Reacher
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:19 pm

Postby yu888 » Thu May 29, 2008 4:37 pm

Is all this expereince on ONE phone? Could be the phone?

Reason I say this is I have not expereinced any worse service than it always has been, AN that is what happend when my old phone started crapping out.
6 years of experiences, good, bad ugly... and survived.

My Blog
User avatar
yu888
Board Legend
Board Legend
 
Posts: 11054
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 8:33 am
Location: lost as usual

Postby shine » Thu May 29, 2008 5:25 pm

My phone is less than one year old and works very well in home country.
shine
Reacher
Reacher
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:19 pm

Postby kuldaen » Thu May 29, 2008 6:13 pm

I'm getting the same problems with making calls 1/4 connects. SMS and recieving calls has been fine.
My guess is they're upgrading the system. maybe its forgotten our numbers.
+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
User avatar
kuldaen
LoopKicker
LoopKicker
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:08 pm
Location: Melbourne-->Sydney-->Shanghai

Re: Problems with China Mobile GSM network

Postby kuldaen » Thu May 29, 2008 6:14 pm

shine wrote:I;m well aware that for GSM, i don't have any other option

Actually you do have the China Unicom option
+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
User avatar
kuldaen
LoopKicker
LoopKicker
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:08 pm
Location: Melbourne-->Sydney-->Shanghai

Postby computersolutions » Thu May 29, 2008 7:38 pm

Its possible that there are too many users trying to use the same cell at one time.
Assuming its not the phone (eg, another phone is exhibiting the same problems),
have you called Shanghai Telecom and told them the issues?

They're usually interested in fixing issues like that.

I'd try another phone first though.

The bars on the phones are generally meaningless, at least one engineer at a phone manufacturer has admitted to faking it because if they put real signal strengths on there, the (american) providers got unhappy.

I can't be bothered looking that up again, but it came across as being quite believable.
computersolutions
StreetBeater
StreetBeater
 
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Deepest, darkest Shanghai.

Postby shine » Thu May 29, 2008 10:05 pm

Both my office and apartment are close to ppl square. hence even i feel that the problem is more due to the heavy traffic in the Cell.
shine
Reacher
Reacher
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:19 pm

Postby computersolutions » Fri May 30, 2008 10:00 am

Give them a call then, if its congestion, they'll need to do something about it.
computersolutions
StreetBeater
StreetBeater
 
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Deepest, darkest Shanghai.


Return to Technology

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests