Chat in China's biggest English language forum.
Receive our weekly
newsletter.
Find an apartment or rent
yours out.

Join the Shanghai Expat Community!

*   *  captcha
refresh
  Receive our weekly newsletter.   I agree with the Shanghai Expat Terms of Service.  
Register   or   Sign in
CLOSE X
Email or username:
Password: Forgot your password?

Working for Disney English

Working for Disney English

Postby michellem415 » Thu May 27, 2010 6:58 am

Hello,

I have just been offered a job with Disney English. My first thought was wow- I am sure Disney would be a great company to work for. I am a little put off by their work schedule- work weekends, get midweek days off (makes it hard to travel, especially with friends working in other locations in Asia)- and the pay is very low (1/2 of what i have been offered by International Schools in China and SE Asia). I have a Master's Degree, experience teaching overseas, experience teaching in both public and private schools in the USA, so have quite a few opportunities for well paid jobs in Asia.

However, I am seriously considering this position, as an opportunity to get into this company. They are expanding rapidly, throughout China, and within a few years throughout other countries, starting in Brazil.

Does, or has, anyone worked as a language trainer for Disney? Would love to hear anyones opinion of the company, and a realistic view of what it would take to move up within the company.

Thanks!
michellem415

Re: Working for Disney English

Postby rickettyrabbit » Thu May 27, 2010 7:41 am