No votes
Its to expensive to obtain a Shanghai plate
12%
Its just to much hassle and Taxis are cheap
59%

Total votes : 17

Why don't Expats Drive Cars

Postby Mister_happy » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:38 am

Following my third conversation with a family on where to go to at the weekends I was shocked that they did not have a car. As a teacher I am not the highest paid expat here in Shanghai but even I can afford a car!

Its not that dangerous driving on the roads here in China and I have lived in the Middle East where it is near suicide to drive.

Its not that difficult to get a driving licence as even the Chinese can do it.
I'm not saying I should kill ALL the stupid people, I'm just removing the warning labels and let the problem sort itself out!
Mister_happy
Fire-eater
Fire-eater

Re: Why don't Expats Drive Cars

Postby bigroh74 » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:48 am

Would be interesting to get a breakdown of your costs. As I understand it, the price of plates here is more than the price of a car back home. The cost of a car itself prohibitive. Plus, who would want to drive in Shanghai's traffic and where is there to drive to that wouldn't be easier by train, Metro or taxi? Add that to the fact that no expat in his or her right mind would plan to stay here more than a few years or do so on a year by year basis and I can't really see the point in a car. But would be interested to know why you think it's unusual.
bigroh74
Veejay
Veejay

Postby Mel69 » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:56 am

I m not sure I tend to agree with Mr. Happy ;
I have an old polo bought for about 1500 USD spend 600 USD and re built the engine myself
Plates from Guangzhou ( need a Chinese friend for this ) about 500 USD
Insurance I have the most coverage , do not try to go cheap on this is about 3500 CNY a year and 800 CNY a year for the license agaent to help withthe registration and insurance every year .
I normally do not drive when going point to point inside the third ring.