Surfing in China

Discuss workout routines and more

Surfing in China

Postby pelicano » Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:15 pm

Heya,

I am relatively new to Shanghai, China (coming up on 1 year). As a lifelong and experienced surfer I thought it would be tough to be away from surfable waves. And it is. Yet, in my short time here I have managed to find some waves, particularly this time last year and now this year. There are reasonable quality beachbreaks on Zhujiajian when east swells are generated in the East China Sea by typhoons or low pressure systems, one is forming off Taiwan and will spin past Okinawa soon. I have photos of overhead hollow and offshore waves, brown water. Yes, it is inconsistent but thankfully there are waves, on the odd occassion.

Anyway, it's a pretty short flight into Zhoushan from Shanghai (or 6 hour bus ride) and not too expensive then short ride to the waves from Zhoushan Airport. I travel there when the weather maps show promise or take off to Southern Taiwan when it looks good (and it gets very good there). It's easy to hire a car there and camp at the waves, so it can be done cheap by flying into Khaosiung. Hainan can be OK in winter but lacks any power. It's overrated. Better to fly to Taiwan. Surprisingly, the focal beachbreak on Zhujiajian has more punch to it. Period tops out at 9-10 seconds, but the bathymetry, while shallow, seems to funnel the energy into it.

If anyone is keen to come surfing I could use some company, it gets lonely in the water sometimes heh heh. I am not really concerned with overcrowding as the spots are fickle and is a bit of an effort. But if you are keen ... there are sometimes rewards. You just have to know how to read the weather maps.

Also, I am interested in exploring the rest of the coastline of China (Fujian Province especially). I am still a lame duck Mandarin wise but maybe your language skills are better and can help us find more waves.