Married in US, Divorce in Shanghai?

Married in US, Divorce in Shanghai?

Postby msawyer » Mon Aug 08, 2011 6:14 am

Hello,

I (US Citizen) married a Chinese citizen in the US. She is unable to return to the US due to USCIS status issues.

Is it possible to get divorced easily in China if our marriage was not performed in China?

I truly appreciate any help you can offer. Thank you!!
msawyer

Re: Married in US, Divorce in Shanghai?

Postby condesa » Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:48 am

msawyer wrote:Hello,

I (US Citizen) married a Chinese citizen in the US. She is unable to return to the US due to USCIS status issues.

Is it possible to get divorced easily in China if our marriage was not performed in China?

I truly appreciate any help you can offer. Thank you!!

I'm not a lawyer BUT it is my understanding that you need to file for divorce in the country you married (legally) because that is where your marriage license was filed.
You need to talk to a divorce lawyer (in US) to see if there is a way that she can get the divorce without having 'physical' presence in the country, for example: what happens if she gives 'power of attorney' (not sure if this is possible for divorce) to a friend or a lawyer that can 'represent' her interests without her been present other option 'could' be the US Embassy here, however I don't know if Embassies can deal with divorce matters (you will need to check).

Obviously if you have kids or lots of assets to divide it will get waaaay more complicated.

There must a loophole (there is always one) but only a lawyer will know this (that is why you pay them a 'little' fortune/ hr) :P .

Best to you !!!!
condesa
Fire-eater
Fire-eater

Postby p1atl10 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:07 am

Married in the US means you have you have to gt divorced in a US State Court.
Usually in the State you were married in.

Physical presence is not a requirement as long as paperwork can be properly notarized and presented to the court.