Fudan or Jiao Tung?

Fudan or Jiao Tung?

Postby jshan » Fri May 31, 2013 6:40 am

Hi there, my daughter who is 16 will go to study Chinese (total beginner) in September in either Fudan or Jiao Tung university for a year. She will live with her uncle who lives in Wah shan road. I wonder which is better for her...anybody can help? Thank you!
jshan

Re: Fudan or Jiao Tung?

Postby Chavster » Fri May 31, 2013 8:39 am

Fudan is better for serious study. Jiaotong if she likes to partaay.
" Once, it was I who stood in the big, cold schoolroom, a hot crumpet burning my cheeks with shame. Since that day, I have been busy every hour God sent, working to become Prime Minister and fight sloth and privilege wherever I found it."

- Pitt the Younger
Chavster
Low Seater
Low Seater

Postby jshan » Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:39 am

Thanks Chavster! I suppose you are speaking from personal experience then?
jshan

Postby wonderer » Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:50 pm

Much as Chavster says, Fudan has the highest reputation, but is in the middle of nowhere. Jiaotong is also good, and right next to Xujiahui or the former French concession, so a much more convenient and enjoyable place to be.

There is no "Wah shan" road, and "wah" does not exist in pinyin Mandarin. Typo? Or are you using Taiwanese romanization? Since you also wrote Jiaotong as "Jiao Tung".
wonderer
PopStar
PopStar

Postby AussiePat » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:01 pm

Huashan Rd?
AussiePat
Raver
Raver

Postby jshan » Sun Jun 02, 2013 5:55 pm

Yes I meant Huashan Rd. Thanks for the correction! How far roughly from Huashan rd to Fudan campus? As a parent I do want to avoid the party scene for a 16 yrs old...after all her purpose of being there is to learn Chinese. I have also heard that Fudan's classes have breaks between 45 mins instead of Jiao Tung's 90mins. My daughter has ADD (I presume this is not very widely understood in China's education system?) so I think Fudan is better for her maybe...

Thanks for all you guys response so far!! x
jshan