Live on $3,000 U.S. per month in Shanghai?

Live on $3,000 U.S. per month in Shanghai?

Postby Javarox » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:24 am

Hi, everyone! My name is Kevin. I'm a software engineer at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in sunny Florida. I also do web work on the side. We (my wife and I) are in the planning stages of moving to Shanghai. I'll be taking a six-month sabbatical from NASA and will be mainly living off my wages earned from my small web business, which brings in roughly $3,000 USD per month.

My question is: Can we live "okay" in Shanghai on that amount? Doesn't have to be luxurious accommodations, but would like to be near food places, grocery stores, parks, etc. But, for now, we'd just like to know if the USD can get us to at least "comfortable" in Shanghai?

Thanks, all!

Kevin
Javarox

Re: Live on $3,000 U.S. per month in Shanghai?

Postby burrito » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:50 am

No.
burrito
Reacher
Reacher

Postby freddiesdead » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:05 pm

burrito wrote:No.

Not sure I'd be quite that harsh :D

But the trip to Hong Kong every month to get a new visa will take a big bite out of that $3,000 ...
freddiesdead
Rocker
Rocker

Postby AngelPigdoctor » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:32 pm

Hi Kevin,

I guess the best way I could help is let you know how much I spend here.

I have a 2 bedroom apartment in Xujiahui, nice area maybe 10-15 year old building, modest, comfortable - 10,000rmb (1.6k USD)/ per month rent.

I live alone, my usual monthly utility bills (I travel a lot)
Telephone 150.
Electricity - 200.
Gas - 20.00
Water - 20.00
Bottled Water - 40.00 month

Roughly 10,500rmb - 1,750 USD

Which leaves you 1,250 USD per month for other things or 180.rmb-41.66USD/day.

Comfort is relative to what you are used to. A good ramen at IPPUDO costs about 80-100rmb. McDonalds would have meals at 20-30rmb ranges. Transportation is ok, from my office (Caobao Rd.) to my place Taxi would be about 26rmb, bus 3.0 rmb, metro 6.0 one way.