I've got an internship offer - should I take it?

I've got an internship offer - should I take it?

Postby robarn » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:58 pm

Hi!

I'm a recent Swedish graduate and I have been applying for a few jobs, but with no luck due to lack of experience in my field. But then I found this internship in Shanghai with a startup that seems very appealing and would boost my CV for sure. They provide free accomodation (bills included) in Jing'an disctrict, but other than that the internship is unfortunately unpaid.

So my question is basically if it would be possible for me to survive here for a few months until I either get hired by the company (which they stated they intend to depending on my performance) or find another paid position? I am a freelance writer for a blog and fairly sure that I would be able to receive at least around 1,500RMB/month through my writing. So will I end up loosing money with that kind of income or is it enough to at least avoid going hungry? I do not intend to party or eat at fancy restaurants until I get a proper income, I will basically just work, sleep and eat in the beginning.

I do have some money saved up for unforseen expenses and I really want to go to Shanghai, both for the work and life experience, so hopefully it could work. I would also be very grateful if you have any tips for other small side jobs I could do to get more income.

Thank you!
robarn

Re: I've got an internship offer - should I take it?

Postby MrCH » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:51 pm

Free accomodation and 1500 RMB a month. You won't starve but that income would literally only pay for food from the supermarket. Forget eating out.
MrCH
Barker
Barker

Postby robarn » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:16 am

MrCH wrote:Free accomodation and 1500 RMB a month. You won't starve but that income would literally only pay for food from the supermarket. Forget eating out.